the past/upcoming 3 months and MANY thanks

I’m back on the blog, folks… simply because I’ve been told I need to give a short update on my life since February. Thanks, Mom and Stacy.

First and most importantly, THANK YOU to all of the family and friends who have helped me in reaching my financial goal. I feel so lucky to have such amazing people in my life who love and support me. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Besides my many thanks, here is what has happened since I last wrote:

Choir Trip –
I got to go on the trip of a lifetime with the Presbyterian College choir. We sang our hearts out across Central Europe. The most powerful moment of the trip and maybe my life so far was singing at a cemetery where many famous musicians are buried. It was an impromptu concert. Quite honestly, we were only singing because we needed the practice and there weren’t many people around. We were so close together in a circle that we saw and heard every breath of our neighbor, but when we sang His Eye is On the Sparrow it was breathtaking (not to toot our own horns). There is a video on Facebook that I shared a few months ago if you haven’t seen it! The rest of the trip was exhausting and amazing at the same time, but nothing could top that one moment.

Student Teaching – 
If you had asked me how I was feeling in January, I would have said two things. 1. I don’t want to be a teacher and 2. I am not ready for student teaching. Today? I don’t know if it’s possible to fully be prepared for student teaching. You go from being a full time college kid to working a 7:30-4:00 job. Not to mention the work you do once you get home. It might not be possible to be 100% prepared for student teaching, but it turns out I was ready for it. I jumped in. I gave my heart to my students and they gave theirs right back to me. I loved student teaching. I loved the challenge of finding the right book for each child and finding a new way to teach a tricky math concept. Google composite shapes and try explaining it to a first grader. I loved learning about my kids through their thoughts and writings. I loved getting to know the other teachers at the most wonderful school I’ve ever been to – Joanna-Woodson Elementary. By the end I didn’t even mind going to bed at 9:00 PM and waking up at 6:00 AM. I loved it all. So, if you were to ask me today if I want to be a teacher, I would be much more likely to say yes. However, my YAV year is still SO important just to make sure that this teaching thing is for me. We’ll see!

Graduation – 
This is the part that honestly kinda stinks. It’s not that I’m not excited for life after graduation, because I am! 
It’s because life doesn’t get much better than becoming so close with your roommates that they’re more like sisters than friends. 
It’s because I had to say goodbye to my little brothers, Dre and Jay. They have been a huge part of my life since freshman year. Watching them grow into the young men they have become has been amazing. 
It’s because the faculty and staff of PC are the best in the world. I can’t imagine life without these mentors, teachers, and yes, friends. They are what makes PC. 
It’s because of my best friends. I made some really wonderful friends during my time at PC. Friends from choir, my dorm hall, my sorority, bible study, maymester to India, and just being on the same campus. These friends have pushed me and challenged me to be my best person. They have eaten many a meals at GDH with me. They have gone out to the houses with me and stayed in to watch movies with me. They have eaten gallons of queso with me. They have made my four years something I will never forget. 
Presbyterian College is a place like no other, and that’s why graduation stinks. It’s hard to say goodbye or even see you later to such a place.

But, on the other hand… I did it! I graduated in four years with a degree in Early Childhood Education. I am proud to be an alum of Presbyterian College.

What’s next?

Well, tomorrow I leave my home in Frederick for the mountains of Montreat, North Carolina. For the next two and a half months I will be working as a counselor with kids who have just completed 5th grade.

Wish me luck and thank you all again!

Leave a Reply

